Run Lifecycle Management Actions in SysKit Point

This article explains how to use Lifecycle Management Actions in SysKit Point

Lifecycle Management Actions in SysKit Point

SysKit Point includes a set of Lifecycle Management actions that can be executed on Office 365 resources - Microsoft Teams, Office 365 Groups, and sites. The following actions are available:

  • Keep

  • Archive

  • Delete

  • Restore

Each action can be executed by SysKit Point Admin and SysKit Point Collaborator users. Lifecycle Management actionsKeep, Archive, and Delete – are available on the following screens in SysKit Point:

  • Sites overview

  • Microsoft Teams & Groups overview

  • Details of a selected resource

  • Lifecycle Management task details

You can find the actions in the side panel, under the Manage category (1), except for the Lifecycle Management task details screen, where they are displayed in a ribbon (2).

Sites Overview – Side panel
Lifecycle Management Task - Actions

The Restore action is available for deleted and archived resources only. You can find these resources on the overview screens by selecting the Deleted/Archived Sites/Groups view (1). On the view, additional columns are available:

  • Deleted By (2)

  • Deleted On (3)

  • Can be Restored (4) – green checkmark is displayed for resources currently in the Recycle Bin and can be restored

  • Restore action (5) is available in the side panel, as already described.

Deleted Sites View

Please note! When the Lifecycle Management flow is enabled, executing an action (except Restore) from any of the mentioned screens will resolve existing unresolved Lifecycle Management tasks for the resource.

Hint! On the Sites overview screen and the Microsoft Teams & Groups overview screen, you run actions on resources in bulk by selecting multiple resources and clicking the wanted action from the side panel.

Lifecycle Management actions are also available in emails that SysKit Point sends to site owners and admins as a part of the Lifecycle Management Automation. Still, actions can be executed in SysKit Point only. Follow this link to learn more about Lifecycle Management emails and tasks.

Next, all actions are described in greater detail.

Keep

The Keep action is run to mark that the selected resource is being used. As a result, the kept resource will be:

  • considered active for a selected amount of time

  • exempt when inactive resources are calculated by the Lifecycle Management Automation

When executing this action, you can:

  • select the period (1) for which the resource should be kept

  • leave a comment (2) on why you want to keep this resource

  • confirm the action by clicking the Keep button (3)

Keep action dialog

By default, the selected period (number of days) is defined inside the settings, after which a resource will be considered inactive. Besides the default option, you can always choose one of the following:

  • 6 months

  • 1 year

  • 2 years

  • Custom

The Custom option lets you choose a specific date in the future until which you want to keep a resource and consider it active.

Keep dialog with custom selection

As a result of this action, you can see the resource getting a new activity state – Kept – visible in the Activity column (1) on overview screens. Kept resources are depicted with a yellow circle. On hover (2), the circle provides additional information on who and until when said to keep the resource.

Sites overview screen - Kept resource

Please note! The Keep action can be executed on inactive resources only!

Archive

Archiving a resource within SysKit Point results in the following:

  • the resource gets into a read-only state

  • access to the site is left only for administrators and owners

  • the permissions inheritance is restored on all objects

  • all memberships on the resource are removed in Office 365

  • all memberships are saved in SysKit Point database to support the Restore action

  • the resource is renamed and gets the suffix [Archived]

On the Archive action dialog, you can:

  • enter a comment (1)

  • confirm the action by typing ARCHIVE (2)

  • execute the action by clicking the Archive button (3)

Archive action dialog

Please note! This action can be executed only on resources that are not archived or deleted.

Hint! As described in the introduction, you can find the archived resources by switching to the Archived view on the overview screens.

Delete

With this action, you can easily delete a resource inside Office 365.

Please note! This action does not delete a resource permanently. The deleted resource is moved to the Recycle Bin, and you can restore inside the period defined by Microsoft. Office 365 keeps your sites for 93 days, and after that, they are deleted permanently. Office 365 groups are kept in the Recycle Bin for 30 days.

Please note! You can find more about Microsoft’s retention policies on the following links:

When running the delete action, do the following:

  • enter a comment (1)

  • confirm the action by typing DELETE (2)

  • execute the action by clicking the Delete button (3)

Delete action dialog

Please note! This action can be executed on resources that are not deleted or archived.

Restore

The Restore action can be executed on archived and deleted resources.

  • When restoring a deleted resource, the action results in the following:

  • The resource is removed from the Recycle Bin

  • The resource is considered active

  • When restoring an archived resource, the action results in the following:

  • All memberships are be restored

  • The suffix [Archive] is removed from the resource name

  • The resource is considered active

When running the Restore action, a confirmation dialog appears. To execute the action, click the Restore button.

Restoring a deleted resource
Restoring an archived resource