All content and resources in Office 365 have a lifecycle which usually consists of the following three stages:
Beginning – for example, an admin creates a new resource - Microsoft Team.
Middle – users collaborate and use said resource, chat, create files, and take advantage of all means they have on disposal to collaborate and achieve their goals successfully.
End – after a team is dismissed or a product retired, the previously used resource becomes stale and is no longer needed.
When a resource has reached the third stage, a team owner from the example needs to decide:
whether to keep the resource available,
archive the produced content, or
delete the resource and all its content.
To help with this process, SysKit Point provides the Lifecycle Management Automation feature and reduces the management to the previously described decision making.
After a SysKit Point Admin enables and configures Lifecycle Management Automation, site owners and admins will be notified via email when some of their resources are inactive for longer period than defined in SysKit Point settings.
Once SysKit Point recognizes that a resource – Microsoft Team, Office 365 Group, or a site – is inactive, an email is sent to the owner or admin of said resource.
The email provides the following:
Resource name and type (1)
Inactivity period (2)
Keep, Archive and Delete actions (3)
Link to the Lifecycle Management task in SysKit Point (4)
Clicking an action button (3) takes you to the Lifecycle Management task of the resource in SysKit Point, where you can provide additional information and execute the selected action. Once clicked, the task details screen opens with the appropriate action dialog visible. For example, if the Delete action button is clicked, the screen shown below opens.
Here, you can:
Comment (1) on why you’re performing the action
Run the action (2)
After the action is executed, the information is displayed in the bottom ribbon of the Lifecycle management task for the viewed resource.
All Lifecycle Management tasks assigned to you can be found on the My Tasks screen.
To view the Lifecycle Management Tasks, click the My Tasks tile on the Home screen, or the My Tasks section in the user profile menu. Notice the red notification bubble; it shows the number of tasks assigned to you.
My Tasks screen shows:
active Lifecycle Management tasks
completed Lifecycle Management tasks
Resolve button to open the task details screen
On the task details screen, the following is available:
Owner(s) list (1)
General resource information (2); description, creation date, and resource sharing policy
Last Activity, All Users, and All Files tile (3); All Users and All Files tile drills to the appropriate reports where you can find more information about users and content in your resource
Actions (4); as previously described, here you can decide what to do with your inactive resource
After you successfully run a Lifecycle Management action, SysKit Point automatically completes the Lifecycle Management task for the reviewed resource.
By default, site owners will receive two additional emails reminding them to complete their Lifecycle Management task. SysKit Point automatically sends these emails:
three days before the due
on the due date
The emails display an appropriate message depending on the time you have left to complete the task and provide you with all available Lifecycle Management actions needed for task completion.
In case you missed the opportunity to decide what to do with the inactive resource, SysKit Point automatically changes the status of all uncompleted Lifecycle Management tasks to Overdue. You can find them on the My Tasks screen under the Completed Lifecycle Management view. You can find them on the My Tasks screen under the Completed Lifecycle Management view.
Such tasks are now assigned to SysKit Point Admins and can no longer be completed by site owners or admins. When opened, the task details screen shows an appropriate message.